Offshore Vendor Selection by Close Inspection

Last year I got to visit a software company in India. We were evaluating if they could be our offshore software development partners. It is very hard to distinguish the software development companies of similar size in India from each other because they have similar websites, similar service portfolios and similar projects. I prepared a list of questions which I sent to them in 3-4 days in advance before my visit to which they had to reply by email.

After I had received the answers, I spent a day speaking with their teams by actually walking on the work floor of their office and sitting behind the developers’ screens to see working examples of their practices. This gave us good insight in to what this software company was capable of doing.

I would like to share the list of questions that I asked. I understand that this is not an exhaustive list of question that you can ask your software development partner but it gives a better idea about how one can go about selecting a software development partner by understanding their capabilities by close inspection.

The list of questions is here:

Development Practices #

HR Practices #

Knowledge Management #

Agile/Scrum #

Software Design #

I wish you a very happy new year.

 
14
Kudos
 
14
Kudos

Now read this

Where is my Data Lake?

Growing interest in gaining value out of the data stored in the enterprise systems and the freely available data on the World Wide Web, has led IT industry to invent a new term called Data Lake. The term Data Lake or Business Data Lake... Continue →